Sauce…

I am not generally a successful improvising cook but last night – damn, I winged some tomato sauce and it came out great!

I had made my Mom’s meatballs on Tuesday which tasted good, but really needed some good sauce and I was out.  As I had 2 jars of CSA Heirloom Tomato Puree (which others had rhapsodized about) and all the other ingredients, I figured it was time to attempt my own sauce.  To, thankfully, very tasty results.

And thus, here is the recipe.

2 22oz. jars of tomato puree (although this stuff was more like sauce)
1 diced onion
6 cloves of garlic, minced
1.5 t. sugar*
1 generous t. oregano
couple grinds black pepper
couple grinds sea salt
a bunch of red pepper flake

That was it!  The puree was very thin but it cooked down well and at about 45 minutes it was pretty thick.  I simmered it another 45 with the leftover meatballs and damn, that was one good dinner.  Go me.

* Based on prior cooking advice from my Italian friend, CJ.  Truly made the difference.

Leave a comment