Something is better than nothing….

These were the crafting goals set out yesterday.
  • Make a dent in the new Rob sweater.
  • Make a quilt top (my Myrzplyk design I’m working on – more later) for our bed.
  • Make 2 knit tops – figure out how to sew knits without a serger.
  • Make 1 sundress of awesome design (not by me).

After typing that up, I realized I really needed to tweak things a bit so as not to drive myself crazy.  If you can believe it, I’m an overachiever 🙂   But I have learned over the years how much I can accomplish in small increments.  As someone said – ‘How do you eat an elephant?  One bite at a time.’  Good advice.  And thus,

  • Make a dent in the new Rob sweater *1 row per day*
  • Make a quilt top (my Myrzplyk design I’m working on – more later) for our bed.
  • Make 2 knit tops – figure out how to sew knits without a serger.
  • Make 1 sundress of awesome design (not by me).
  • 2 crafting hours per week.

The sweater is knit in the round so a row is a long one.  The one row a day ensures that I get to knit (I LOVE to knit) and that I don’t overdo it.  My left hand complains if I knit to much and I often don’t notice said complaint until I’m at a point when I need to take a week off and rest it.  Bummer (and can be a catastrophe guitar-wise).  So to protect it and still ‘get to knit,’ the Row a Day plan has been put into place.   In 10 days I’m on the 10th row and it’s about 2.5″ done.  Score.  The sweater will get there eventually – for now, so fun to knit with this soft wool.  Bliss.

Similarly, the two crafting hours a week are coming out of the need to intentionally craft yet not make myself crazy over it.  I’m hopeful that with a crafting ‘date’ in place I’ll be able to get some work done and then let it go an not make myself feel badly about not crafting enough or whatever.   I’ve been doing this short bits per day technique with my German study and it’s helped a lot.  In the end, I know a lot more German that I would have if I made it into some huge project.  Hopefully I’ll end up with some nice crafts out of it as well!

This week, I’m spending 2 hours working on a knit shirt.  I cut it out in mid-November and it’s sat idle on top of my machine since that time.  Dust aside, I really need some new tops so why not go for it? I have all the tools, just have to make the time.  Nervous – never sewn knits before – but you have to start somewhere.  I’m starting with B5495.

Leave a Reply

