Actual Crafting at the Craft Nook

Really.  I do craft.  And clearly I do better with a deadline. To wit:

For the past four years I have been singing as part of the Nightwatch program at the Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine, here in NYC.   This gig has been truly amazing and a joy to do.  It’s a contemplative Christian folk-rock gig where we are required to be ourselves and just create.  Very rare in church jobs that you are asked to be MORE yourself.  Bliss!

Sadly, our boss, Paul, is retiring.  Because we have all felt so lucky to do this gig and know him, we wanted to get him a retirement gift.  Our original eReader idea was nixed as we found out through ‘intel’ that he is not a fan.  Yikes!  In a moment of ignorance/stupidity/overly confident thinking, I volunteered to make a T-shirt quilt. We sell shirts for the program and had a few styles leftover and thus began a week of scrambling to make a small T-shirt quilt before our goodbye party the following week.  Yikes – it was close.  I was crafting up until an hour before the party.  To be honest the only reason it got done was because two of my co-workers came over the night before to finish tying the quilt so I could make binding at the same time – whew!

I had 6 t-shirts but really wanted a nine block quilt.  Additionally, one co-worker Kirk had recommended offsetting the cross and thus this design was born.

Nightwatch is a program that is done in the Cathedral after hours.  We do a lot of stuff in the dark or by candlelight and the kids stay over night, etc…  I wanted to keep it dark so I went with Kona Black for the sashing.  I pretty much just measured the black I’d need around the cross and thankfully it all worked out nicely.  Here’s the top pieced, pre quilting:

Not so great lighting but you get the idea.

And here is the quilt finished – front:

Notice my feet there?  It’s so hard to take pictures of quilts when you are alone.  I’m standing on my bed getting an aerial view LOL.  Here’s the back, again the fabric LIz Goodrick-Dillon for Timeless Treasures Fabrics, Pattern Liz-C looked very night sky to me and thus:

I added an 18 1/2″ black square for an inscription that another musician wrote out (after this shot) and our staff of 6 signed below.

Some detail shots:

Quilting.  Went with tying since we needed this done fast and others without sewing skills could actually pitch in.  Tied with 6 strands of run of the mill black embroidery floss:

Black velvet tabs for hanging:

The back of the binding is hand sewn, the front machine.

So overall – it was T-shirts backed with black fusible interfacing, the Kona black and Liz Goodrick-Dillon fabrics, tied with black embroidery thread with added velvet ribbon tabs for hanging. Very pleased with the results – go me/us!

Leave a Reply

