Stashbusting and Project Finishing

I’m continually drawn to new things, new ideas, new projects.  I think this is one of my better personality traits, but it has left me with a certain amount of ‘unfinished business’.  So I’ve decided that the balance of 2012 and all of 2013 will be all about Stashbusting and Finishing Projects.

To kick the finishing off:

I started these pillowcases in 2007 as a way to learn embroidery.  My sister suggested a Bucilla kit and we chose colors to match a sampler quilt I was actively making at the time.  My aim is to finish that quilt also as a part of this project.

Close up/action shots:

These cases used 2 and 3 strands of thread in the following colors:

Light Blue – DMC 809
Med Blue – DMC 3838
Dark Blue – DMC 797
Light Green – DMC 3348
Med Green – DMC 3502
Dark Green – DMC 3051
Purple – DMC 340
Yellow – DMC 727

I absolutely love the color scheme.  My tastes run more modern but the colors alone have left me in love with these pillowcases.  And I find that despite pushing myself to get these done, I am not burnt out on embroidery but rather, totally addicted to embroidery.  A quick glance around the internet tells me there are so many ways to go forward here.  Anyone have a favorite?  Something special to rec?  I am hungry for me.  Lay it on me.

Ciao for now.

Leave a Reply

