Embroidered Bookmark

I actually finished this a week ago but since it was a gift, I held off posting about it.  But here you go!

IMG_1420

IMG_1418

This came out a lot better than I thought it would LOL.  I had read that sewing on paper was tricky (once you make a hole you are stuck with it) but I think this turned out well enough.  I did the silk ribbon flowers first and then added stems in regular embroidery thread (6 strands) in stem stitch and grass in straight stitch.  I attempted to add a leaf before I thought it through – for obvious reasons, you can’t do satin stitch on paper – oops!    Hopefully she won’t look too closely at that part!

In any event, it was one of my sister’s birthday gifts.  She is the one who taught me embroidery in the first place so I thought she’d get a kick out of it.  I hope she did – happy birthday, sis!

Leave a Reply

