Blue pillow – getting there. And a serger question.

We have a quilted pillow front:

IMG_0261

In terms of quilting, I decided to ‘edgestitch the ditch’ as I really did not want any thread to cover up the colorful squares and I’m not so solid on ditch stitching yet.  I got fussy and surrounded each square but that’s it; I wanted this to look as clean as possible.  Fancy quilting often feels too old-fashioned for my personal taste.  Very pleased with this level.  Close up:

IMG_0262

And now onto the back:  This pillow is replacing/revamping a chenille pillow that is sadly falling apart.  My original plan to reuse the original pillow backing turned out to be a no-go as, on closer examination, it is fraying badly.   I decided to piece the back using these two fabulous Michael Miller “Gypsy Bandana” designs which sadly seem no longer available:

IMG_0258

Keeping with the ‘squares’ theme, I quilted large squares on the back.

Unfortunately when I took the falling apart pillow apart to get the stuffing, I discovered that it is merely stuffed and does not contain a ‘pillow form’ per se.  Since I like the way this pillow is going so much, I’m going to make it with a zipper so I can throw the cover in the wash as I’m sure the white will not easily remain white.  I cut down an old IKEA pillowcase (that was oversized and thus big enough (this pillow is a little under 20″), turned it inside-out and serged the other 3 sides.

IMG_0264I am new to serging and using mine was not as tricky as I’d remembered (threading in particular).  That said, I couldn’t get the tension quite right which was frustrating.  Anyone know about this?  All adjustments seemed to make it worse. This was the best it got.  Thoughts?

IMG_0268

All that remains is inserting the zipper and sewing the cover together.  So close!  I do have a long-enough zipper in my stash but it’s invisible and it’s been a while.  So that’s a project for another day.  I did not expect this project to become so elaborate but I do feel like I learned/relearned a ton which is great. Can’t wait to get this in our apartment for real.  Nice.

Leave a Reply

