So, this happened.

I’ve been wanting to make a duct tape dress form for a while and I finally wrangled/wore down? the boy into helping me do it.   He likes SciFi so I suggested that the duct tape would sort of replicate an alien fantasy chick –  not only that but I’ve sort of got a whole Alien Librarian vibe going here. I’m really hitting all the points 🙂

In any event, I’m pleased with how it came out.  From the back:

IMG_0124All told we used 1.5 rolls of duct tape (75 yds).  Then came the stuffing.  It took 100 oz of polyester fiberfill and most of a Sunday NY Times.  If you’re like me – big chested and big bellied – you will be using a lot of filler to get it right.

IMG_0127

IMG_0128I’m going to use my mic stand to hold it up.  I rough cut a cardboard bottom for it to sit on.  Hopefully that will be enough:

IMG_0129It took about 2.5 hours to make (plus a second trip to Michael’s for fiberfill as I had only bought 60 oz beforehand so for us, it took all day) and I’ll let you all know how it works out in real life.  It cost approximately $35 to make (Fiberfill $25 and Duct tape $10).  It really does look like me so I’m pleased to have something that replicates my sloped shoulders, belly, boobs and sway back.  Pretty cool, right?

Leave a Reply

