Draping at FIT: Dress 2

For this one, we did another traditional bodice, this time with a bust dart instead of shoulder dart and, on the back, a neckline dart instead of a shoulder dart.  We made a non-roll collar (although honestly it seems almost the same), used a hip yoke, made facings for each of those as well as neckline facings and draped a gathered dirndl skirt.  (Collar below was the revised collar – I thought it suited the dress better.)

IMG_0309 IMG_0310
IMG_0306
IMG_0312 IMG_0313 IMG_0315

Line drawing:

IMG_0317

I had planned to blog this class more but wow, it is a total time and energy suck.  Not complaining but on top of my full time job and the 6 hours of class, I’m spending at least 10 hours (often closer to 18) each week on draping so by the time I get home, I’m pretty much good for nada.   I am learning a ton, though, which is cool.  But wow, so tiring.

More soon.  Onto dress 3!  Yikes – have to figure that out!

Leave a Reply

