Summer Recipe(s)!

With my sewing machine back in the shop for two weeks (this time at Sew Right in Bayside, Queens), I’ve been doing other things to occupy myself including a lot of cooking.  I made one of my favorite recipes yesterday, and it’s great and easy for summer so I thought I’d share it.  I don’t tolerate onions or garlic very well,, so I’ve posted both my modified easier-for-me-to-digest IBS version and the original so you can bake this up to suit your body and taste.

Grandmother’s Zucchini “Like a Quiche”

IMG_0243It smelled so good I forgot to take a photo before I ate some!

Ingredient list for more easily digestible version:

4 eggs, slightly beaten
1 c. bisquick*
½ c. garlic inflused canola oil**
¾ c. grated parmesan cheese
Generous ½ t oregano
½ t salt
3 c. zucchini (1 huge or 3 small)

Preheat oven to 350F. Combine all ingredients other than zucchini in a bowl. To prepare zucchini, I tend to slice 1/8” wide rounds which I then quarter. (If you want to get fancy, reserve 6 rounds (don’t quarter) to decorate at end.) Combine quartered zucchini with other ingredients and then turn mixture into a non-greased 9” deep dish pie plate. If you reserved your ‘fancy rounds’, now press them into the top evenly spaced. This will give your final baked version a more polished appearance. Cook for 25-45 minutes in a preheated 350F oven. It’s done when it looks slightly browned and when you press in center, it feels baked/not squishy-wet.  Let sit for a few minutes after taking out to finish baking and then serve. Keeps well and also tastes great cold.

Notes:

* If you have IBS and are eating low FODMAP, use gluten free Bisquick instead.

** You can usually find garlic infused olive oil in the supermarket. If that’s all you can find, use ¼ c. of that, plus ¼ c. of plain canola. Or you can make your own garlic infused oil as follows:

Garlic-Infused Oil

Place your chosen oil (for this recipe, canola) and a peeled, quartered clove of garlic (keep it in larger chunks; you’ll be removing this later) in a saucepan and heat on stove at medium heat until you start to really smell the garlic (3-5 minutes). Remove from heat, cover and let steep for an hour. Remove garlic and you are ready to use your garlic infused oil.

**

For those of you who’d like to try the original, the directions are the same but swap out the ingredient list for my grandmother’s (Note: I think the garlic infused oil version actually tastes better so you might want to still infuse oil, add onions and just adjust the cheese for your more onion-y version).

4 eggs, slightly beaten
1 c. bisquick
½ c. canola oil
½ c. grated parmesan cheese
½ t oregano
½ t salt
½ c. onion, chopped
1 clove of garlic, smashed
3 c. zucchini (1 huge or 3 small)

**
Regardless of what you make, enjoy! This is one of my all time summer favorites. A great way to enjoy the end of a delicious summer!

Leave a comment